Week Two Hundred and Seventy-Six

This was Zeeke's last week of gymnastics camp.  We'll miss how exhausted it left him at the end of the day.  His favorite things were walking the balance beam, doing forward rolls (don't call them somersaults!), learning new games, and watching "the intensive girls" (advanced students).  Karen left work early to catch his final presentation (with hula hoops!) and then we caught an early dinner at Johnny Rockets.

Saturday, Zeeke demanded a lazy day, so after driving Karen to work, he and Steve picked up donuts and spent most of the day making up games for each other to play (Zeeke's overwhelming obsession).  At one point, they took a walk and Zeeke accidentally tossed Cowie Wowie (his mooing cow keychain) under someone's car and they had to concoct a desperate rescue plan before Zeeke's anxiety made his head explode.  Fortunately, someone down the block had left some long pieces of wooden siding in front of their house.

Sunday, Karen & Zeeke went to the library where Zeeke played on the computer and did a great job using the mouse.  They read a Spiderman comic book, played I-Spy, and then went for a walk to the fountain and picked up some brownies.  

Conversations with Zeeke:

"Daddy, let's play tiger and fish."
"I'm guessing you're the tiger."
"No, I'm the fish... but the fish can eat the tiger whenever he wants."
"Gotcha."
"Chomp! I ate you, Daddy."
"Ok."
"Now, you can be the fish and I'll be the tiger."
"Cool! Chomp! I ate you."
"No, you died because you're a fish and you weren't in the water. Sorry, Daddy."

"Daddy, did you know that today at gym camp a lot of people were bleeding?"
"Oh my gosh, what happened?"
"I don't know. They were just bleeding."

"Daddy, can you put my superhero bracelets on me?"
"Wow, these are some wet wrists. Did you stick you hands in the toilet."
"No! Well... I did... Ow, these superhero bracelets hurt my wrists."
"Beauty hurts."
"Oh, I know, Daddy."

Playing one of the games Zeeke made up:
"Ok, Daddy, this airplane takes you from the Art Museum to the apartment building where the girls live."
"All right!"